Will it thunder in Manchester?

The thunderstorm forecast percentage is calculated by combining data from several computer models.

Short range

Will it thunder today, tomorrow or the day after?

Tue 16 Jul
41%

Wed 17 Jul
0%

Medium range

Will it thunder during the following ten days?

Thu 18 Jul
0%
Fri 19 Jul
0%
Sat 20 Jul
0%
Sun 21 Jul
0%
Mon 22 Jul
0%
Tue 23 Jul
0%
Wed 24 Jul
0%
Thu 25 Jul
0%
Fri 26 Jul
0%
Sat 27 Jul
3%
Sun 28 Jul
3%

Frost, rain, snow, heat and thunder risk

Manchester frost

Manchester rain

Manchester snow

Manchester heat

Manchester thunder

Full weather forecast

Next 3 days hour by hour

Manchester hourly

Next 16 days in 3 hour intervals

Manchester 16 day

Select location

UK postcode or place

What is needed for thunderstorms?

Thunderstorms need moisture, an unstable atmosphere and lift, to develop.

Moisture is needed to create the clouds and rain.

The atmosphere needs to be unstable so that the air can rise and cool.

Lift is needed to get the air rising. This can be provided by fronts, sea breezes, mountains or heating from the sun.

Thunderstorms are most likely to occur in the summer months when the air is warm and moist. They are most likely to occur in the afternoon and evening when the sun has had time to heat the ground.

If you would like more in-depth information check our extensive range of Numerical Weather Prediction model data

To check the complete weather forecast use the Place, postcode or geolocation options in the header.



COMPUTER MODELS

INFO

Short range
Short to medium range
Medium to long range
Deterministic
Ensemble

See the Model inventory for the full list of model charts and data